My Take On Life…It's Too Short, Enjoy It!

My Summer Vacation

Do you remember the first day of a new school year and the teacher would ask how you spent your summer vacation?  For the last two summers I could answer that I spent my summer ‘vacation’ in school.  In less than three weeks, I will enter my sophomore year at Sinclair Community College.  When I look back at my first year in school I never imagined I would be where I am right now.  I went back to school because I knew I had more to offer the world than what I was employed to do.  I’d long ago hit a glass ceiling that seemed to be falling down on top of me.

On May 19th, the glass ceiling came crashing down when I lost my job.  So, I spent my summer going to school and trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.  I consider myself fortunate that I did receive a decent severance package.  The only setback I’ve experienced is that, according to the Financial Aid Office, I lost my job too late to qualify for Pell Grants for the 2010-2011 school year.  I do have financial aid, but because of what I made last year, my loan amount dropped drastically for the upcoming school year.  I won’t let it get me down.  My goal is still to graduate from Sinclair with my Associate’s Degree in Liberal Arts with a History Emphasis in the spring of 2011.  In the fall of 2011, I will begin the journey towards my Bachelor’s Degree in History at the University of Cincinnati.  By then, I’ll qualify for the grants I missed this year.  It’s a far cry from the University of Florida, but I won’t let that stop my journey.  I just have to make some adjustments along the way.

God gave me a tremendous gift when I was seven years old; the ability to play the piano.  For nearly thirty years, I’d played the piano and organ and/or sang at many weddings and special events.  For many years I averaged two or three weddings a year.  I never had to solicit my services; people came to me.  Now the time has come for me to put myself out there; I’m going into business for myself!  I’m not sure exactly how I’ll do it, but I’ll make it happen!  Right now I’m working on a name for my business and putting the specifics together.  I can play piano and/or sing at weddings or any special events.  I can put slide shows together for your special event, as well.  For those of you whose weddings I’ve had the privilege to be a part of, I would hope you’d recommend me to your friends.  I can be reached via email at ilvjazz0021@cinci.rr.com.  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

